HAPPINESS IN THE FORM OF FURBALLS…

Well hello my friends! I hope everyone enjoyed their extended weekend…my husband and I actually extended ours an extra day and had a nice “staycation” full of laziness, beer, and brownies (and probably a few extra pounds…).

Speaking of brownies, I delayed writing a post today thinking that I would be the bearer of most excellent news this afternoon – a new (furry) addition to the family in the name of – yep, you guessed it – Brownie! Unfortunately, upon an early afternoon arrival to the ASPCA with Ms. Mattie-Lu in tow to meet this new little creature that would potentially become her brother, we discovered that our Brownie was adopted just hours before. I’m not quite sure how to feel at this point – sad that our little man wasn’t adopted by us, or thrilled that this adorable little pup found a home! I think Mattie-Lu’s expression sums it up quite nicely…

Mattie-Lu Poo

(where’s my brother?)

Of course, my cat Simon had to put in his two cents as well…

Simon Face

(dreaming of a dog-free home…)

I must say, if you don’t own a pet, it is something that I would highly recommend. Not only are they a constant amusement, they give life that additional dimension, that extra vigor, and bestow such an abundance of love on body and soul that life can’t help but feel blissful, even in the worst of times.

Sure, the little critters can also be a bit troublesome and overly boisterous – I can’t tell you how many pairs of shoes were destroyed, lipsticks eaten, shirts shredded, and hairballs discovered – but it’s been worth it, truly, it has…

In the end, no matter the chaos they may cause or things they may destroy, I can’t imagine life without my furballs. Simply said, they make me smile and frankly, isn’t that what life is all about?

Simon in Basket

(can’t resist a comfy basket!)

Mattie on Couch

(you talkin’ to meee?)

The above picture of Mattie looking guilty on couch actually reminds me of a fun series on Desire to Inspire called “Pets on Furniture.” And, well, there’s not much more to it – animals on furniture, but with just a little more panache….

Oh my goodness! It was so hard to stop at just a few! Adorable animals + exquisite interiors = pure purrfection.

Do you own any animals? If so, do share! Email me your own pictures of “Pets on Furniture” and I will feature my favorites next Wednesday, 9/12. Original content only, please. The winner will receive a little care package put together by yours truly, with a little help of Mattie and Simon, of course.

Leave a comment